AAS Event Calendar

Introduction to Astronomy - Stellar Corpses - The party is not over!
Monday 01 Jun, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Online AAS YouTube Channel
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

Nuclear fusion at a star’s core provides the outward force to prevent the star from collapsing onto itself from the inward force of gravity.  When atomic fusion ceases, however, the collapsing star creates an extremely compact object known as a stellar corpse.

Tonight’s talk will discuss the three types of stellar corpses, white dwarfs, neutron stars and stellar black holes, including how they form and their inner structures. More interesting,though, you will see that these seeming dead compressed stellar cores are far from inactive and often lead exciting lives with many active astrophysical processes. These involve novae, supernovae, pulsars, starquakes, X-ray binaries and mergers.

Afterwards, you will understand the basics and more about these intriguing objects often mentioned in articles without any important accompanying details. In turn, this will enhance your enjoyment of your ongoing astronomy reading and learning as you discover the party is not over these fascinating objects.

Join us online 8 pm Monday evening.





Monthly Meeting - Jun
Monday 08 Jun, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Jun
Monday 15 Jun, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Jun
Monday 15 Jun, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Film Night - Jun
Monday 22 Jun, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Jul
Monday 06 Jul, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Jul
Monday 13 Jul, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Jul
Monday 20 Jul, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Jul
Monday 20 Jul, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Film Night - Jul
Monday 27 Jul, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Aug
Monday 03 Aug, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Aug
Monday 10 Aug, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Aug
Monday 17 Aug, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Aug
Monday 17 Aug, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Film Night - Aug
Monday 24 Aug, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Sep
Monday 07 Sep, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Sep
Monday 14 Sep, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Sep
Monday 21 Sep, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Sep
Monday 21 Sep, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Film Night - Sep
Monday 28 Sep, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Oct
Monday 05 Oct, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Oct
Monday 12 Oct, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Oct
Monday 19 Oct, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Oct
Monday 19 Oct, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Film Night - Oct
Monday 26 Oct, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Nov
Monday 02 Nov, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Nov
Monday 09 Nov, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Nov
Monday 16 Nov, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Nov
Monday 16 Nov, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



Film Night - Nov
Monday 23 Nov, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Gavin Logan

TBA



Introduction to Astronomy - Dec
Monday 07 Dec, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Dr Chris Benton

TBA



Monthly Meeting - Dec
Monday 14 Dec, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: TBA

TBA



Practical Astronomy - Dec
Monday 21 Dec, 2020 at 20:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Bill Thomas

TBA



Astrophotography Group - Dec
Monday 21 Dec, 2020 at 19:00Hrs
Venue: Stardome Observatory
Speaker/Host: Shaun Fletcher

TBA



PO Box 24-187, Royal Oak, Auckland 1345.          For all enquiries: email the Treasurer          Website by Moore IT